Fair Housing


The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities. The purpose of the law is to ensure equal access to housing of choice.

No person may be denied housing based on: 

  • Race 
  • Color
  • Religion
  • National origin
  • Sex (including sexual orientation and gender identity)
  • Familial status 
  • Disability.

Learn more about Fair Housing at:

Fair Housing Act

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

The United States Department of Justice

Fair Housing Council of Oregon